Viewing entries tagged
archiving

Does Gmail automatically delete emails? What about archiving vs. trash?

Comment

Does Gmail automatically delete emails? What about archiving vs. trash?

“Will Google delete my messages automatically?”

SHORT ANSWER: It depends...

ARCHIVED MESSAGES & ALL MAIL: In Google Mail, when you select a message and click the Archive button, the message is removed from your inbox and moved to the “All Mail” label/folder, meaning it can still be found there or via search anytime (blue magnifying glass button).

TRASH & 30 DAYS AUTOMATIC DELETION: In Google Mail, when you select a message and click the Trash button, the message is removed from your inbox and moved to the “Trash” label/folder. Messages that have been in Trash more than 30 days will be automatically deleted forever.

Comment